Q68 Notice 3 - Update

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
Zarchos
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Q68 Notice 3 - Update

Postby Zarchos » Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:49 am

I am going to be a pain in the a... but could the moderator delete not Q68 related posts, please (including mine).
Thanks.
Keeping threads readable should be evrybody's concern.
We owe that to the fab work by the Q68 designer (to me).
No offense, forgive me, I am a little bit to french (=very frank. That is not arrogance, it is culture, 'by design', my intentionis not to hurt your feelings).


Owner of various QLs including accelerated beasts, and also a happy Q68 owner ;)
User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1829
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Q68 Notice 3 - Update

Postby vanpeebles » Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:04 am

It's just chat, we are an informal friendly bunch :)


User avatar
Pr0f
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Q68 Notice 3 - Update

Postby Pr0f » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:01 am

From a note on the other thread - it mentions 'fast ram area'

What is that? Is this automatically available or are specific drivers required to harness it?


User avatar
Zarchos
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Q68 Notice 3 - Update

Postby Zarchos » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:04 am

Pr0f wrote:From a note on the other thread - it mentions 'fast ram area'

What is that? Is this automatically available or are specific drivers required to harness it?


The way I understand it there is an area where your code (or / and data accessed to if in this memory area ?) will run much faster.
Very interesting, of course.


Owner of various QLs including accelerated beasts, and also a happy Q68 owner ;)
User avatar
Peter
Gold Card
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Q68 Notice 3 - Update

Postby Peter » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:55 pm

Pr0f wrote:From a note on the other thread - it mentions 'fast ram area'
What is that? Is this automatically available or are specific drivers required to harness it?


No sepcial drivers, memory can be allocated by a simple SMSQ/E Basic Command.
Access is 4 times faster than normal SDRAM. Due to the small size, only suitable for short and very speed criticial routines.



Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest