Scart to HDMI upscaler

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
Silvester
Trump Card
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:14 am
Location: UK

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby Silvester » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:29 pm

Derek_Stewart wrote:HI,

I am hoping they would send it as a gift and the customs would not look at it closely.

But payament of the VAT is clear problem and import more than one would mean import tax and VAT.

Maybe not worth the effort.

Tricky situation, there are several items I would like from China at similar price but wouldn't like to get stung (I've heard a few horror stories). I wanted a Lattice programming cable (just over £15) but I fear I would end up paying more than UK cost of new LatticeXP2 Brevia 2 Development Kit (£36).

Back to subject thread.... RGB converter would have made nice project.


User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1231
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby dilwyn » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:54 pm

Silvester wrote:Back to subject thread.... RGB converter would have made nice project.

Indeed. For years we've struggled with the availability of suitable monitors for the QL. A cheap, fairly simple project of this nature would have made a great accessory for QL, assuming we could get around any HDMI fees etc.


Dilwyn
All things QL: see www.dilwyn.me.uk
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby Dave » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:16 pm

You get around the hdmi fees by using a dvi connector.


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1154
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby tofro » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:36 pm

I really don't see the point why the QL scene should be diverting development capacity which is nearly non-existent anyhow into something you can buy from China cheaply.

ALL the HDMI upscalers (three different makes) I have bought so far have perfectly worked with all of my QLs.
(The Q40 is a different story, unfortunately)

Tobias


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby vanpeebles » Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:16 pm

Piccy of a Super Nintendo running at 1080p via rgb scart to hdmi thingy

Image


Kermit
ROM Dongle
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:12 am

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby Kermit » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:23 pm

The old units with the white writing on are still available, you just need to look for them. There a lot of these newer units with the coloured writing. I bought one of the older units today second hand on eBay and it was easy to find.


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby vanpeebles » Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:22 pm

Image

Acorn Electron loading screen. For the price, the quality is amazing I think.


Kermit
ROM Dongle
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:12 am

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby Kermit » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:28 pm

Just compared the older style metal upscaler via a 22" Sony Brava to a 32" Sony Crt Trinitron and a Phillips cm 8833 monitor.
The upscaler to modern flatscreen outclassed both crts by a significant margin using a QL.
Then using a Playstation 1, the upscaler was also better. I could see really defined clear bright polygons.


User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1231
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby dilwyn » Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:50 pm

Kermit wrote:Just compared the older style metal upscaler via a 22" Sony Brava to a 32" Sony Crt Trinitron and a Phillips cm 8833 monitor.
The upscaler to modern flatscreen outclassed both crts by a significant margin using a QL.
Then using a Playstation 1, the upscaler was also better. I could see really defined clear bright polygons.

Do the ones you tested still manage to show the full 85 characters of a QL screen, without losing the edge characters like you might with a simple QL to SCART lead, for example?


Dilwyn
All things QL: see www.dilwyn.me.uk
Kermit
ROM Dongle
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:12 am

Re: Scart to HDMI upscaler

Postby Kermit » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:15 pm

No, unfortunately I still lose a couple of digits. I have 2 different Rgb cables and both have the same problem.



Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests