Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 586
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby Outsoft » Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:18 am

Outsoft wrote:Ta daaaaaaaan!!!

I’ve bought 2 NEW MD units for the Speccy on eBay (never used before, serial stamped in green colour, so the last series).

One of them…connected on my QL…WORKS at 100%!!!

Read better than the internal units (less error in first reading) + Format and Write PERFECTLY!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the FIRST and ONLY ONE Speccy unit 100% compatibile with a QL that I've got in my hands!!!

Without and tricks or mPort connected!!

I’ve to test another 1 unit that I bought with this one that seems made on the same period...and another unit that I have here new for my Speccy too.

I absolutly need an MD cable inverted for use this unit in FRONT of me.

Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


I've tested also the other 2 units that I have and...no way: only this one I've found is totally working on the QL!

I've tested also writing on it and reading from the QL internal units what that MDV3_ wrote and...all works well!


User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1235
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby dilwyn » Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:28 pm

Congratulations, it's certainly unusual to hear of an unmodified ZX Microdrive working so well on a QL.


Dilwyn
All things QL: see www.dilwyn.me.uk
User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 586
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby Outsoft » Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:16 pm

dilwyn wrote:Congratulations, it's certainly unusual to hear of an unmodified ZX Microdrive working so well on a QL.


Thanks Dilwyn ;)

Now I need only a twisted cable ^_^


Bloodnok
ROM Dongle
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 9:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby Bloodnok » Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:42 am

I've had the same experience with unmodified ZX drives. Only managed to find one to work with the QL (out of the 10 or so tested so far). And that was only after recalibrating the motor speed (2400rpm unloaded or 2250rpm loaded seems optimum).

I haven't been able to locate copies of the articles mentioned in QL Today or Quanta on the OPD drives - can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,

Charles


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby tofro » Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:07 pm

Then I must have been lucky with mine - My (single) Spectrum Microdrive that came with the IF1 that I no longer have worked perfectly on the QL. I was under the impression everyone's does. Apparently not.

Tobias


Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby Dave » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:16 pm

My discovery was that you can use only one extension microdrive unit on a QL if they are used backwards as forced by the connector. When fed from the left, they know their position in the chain to do drive select, when fed from the right side this doesn't seem to work right.


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby tofro » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:31 pm

Dave wrote:My discovery was that you can use only one extension microdrive unit on a QL if they are used backwards as forced by the connector. When fed from the left, they know their position in the chain to do drive select, when fed from the right side this doesn't seem to work right.


That was assumed as a given. When connected the wrong way round (even if it looks "right" that way), the mdv doesn't do anything on the QL.

The difference seem s to be (in ascending order)

- does it read properly?
- does it write properly?
- is it able to format cartridges properly?

Tobias


User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 586
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby Outsoft » Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:35 pm

tofro wrote:
Dave wrote:My discovery was that you can use only one extension microdrive unit on a QL if they are used backwards as forced by the connector. When fed from the left, they know their position in the chain to do drive select, when fed from the right side this doesn't seem to work right.


That was assumed as a given. When connected the wrong way round (even if it looks "right" that way), the mdv doesn't do anything on the QL.

The difference seem s to be (in ascending order)

- does it read properly?
- does it write properly?
- is it able to format cartridges properly?

Tobias


The unit that I've discovered works perfectly as it was an internal QL MD ;)

Infact I was very SURPRISED to find it one with 100% compatibility because...I never seen one before!

I've tested with my QL QL's (one ITA, one DEU "Samsung made") and with all 2 I can read, write and cancel / format perfectly on the QL and naturally the same unit works on Speccy too ;)

I've tested other 3 different units but no one works at 100% like this one.

I'm searching for another one "analogue"...I hope to find it ;)

But in the meantime I can finally use an external unit (more comofortable) for dump and preserve (more than 3000 dumps made in 1 year) and possibly more easy to clean and access on it ;)
Last edited by Outsoft on Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby Dave » Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:35 pm

Would you be willing to do the 2x resister modification to bring them into spec? Is there also a motor speed difference?


User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 586
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Using ZX Microdrives on the QL

Postby Outsoft » Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:28 pm

Dave wrote:Would you be willing to do the 2x resister modification to bring them into spec? Is there also a motor speed difference?


Well we will need to open it for check but I'm not the right person to do it.

I think that also the motor is working on a different speed because when I run an MDV on this unit I heard that the motor speed is exactly the same of the internal QL unit.

I use mDump2 to check the reading speed (and accuracy) and I've seen that with this unit is all more stable, more than with an internal unit, and very different from other Speccy units that I've tested that yes can read but makes a lot of errors before complete a unique good dump of a QL MD.



Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests