Announcement - new QL Interface

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2247
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby RWAP » Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:21 pm

Tetroid in Russia, has sent me some pictures of a new interface he has designed. It basically merges his existing Trump Card clone, with a QubIDE clone to provide an all in one memory / disk / compact flash card interface complete with Toolkit II.

Image

More photos appear at:
http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1069.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1070.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1071.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1073.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1050.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1051.jpg

He is looking for a couple of people to test - I have said I would be interested, and would suggest Dilwyn.

Anyone else fancy one to try and feedback on this beta version?

:D


User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby Outsoft » Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:46 pm

RWAP wrote:Tetroid in Russia, has sent me some pictures of a new interface he has designed. It basically merges his existing Trump Card clone, with a QubIDE clone to provide an all in one memory / disk / compact flash card interface complete with Toolkit II.

Image

More photos appear at:
http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1069.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1070.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1071.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1073.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1050.jpg

http://cats-chess.narod.ru/QL/QLMIO/PROT/IMG_1051.jpg

He is looking for a couple of people to test - I have said I would be interested, and would suggest Dilwyn.

Anyone else fancy one to try and feedback on this beta version?

:D


Wow!!!

Simply incredible!!!

I'm offering to test it and buy it one ;)

Great that have his internal memory + TK2, great job!!!

Soon we will see a clone of the Super Gold Card + Qubide too? ;)


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby vanpeebles » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:01 pm

I'd be up for testing it! Will it run at 5v for use with an aurora??


User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1231
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby dilwyn » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:02 pm

Ordinarily I'd say YES (Rich knows I can break just about anything computer-related) but due to the care commitments with very ill close relatives at the moment, I just can't spare the time. This definitely looks like an add-on I might buy in time though!


Dilwyn
All things QL: see www.dilwyn.me.uk
Bloodnok
ROM Dongle
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 9:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby Bloodnok » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:06 pm

Great to see!

More than happy to test if there's still an opening. Being in NZ I'll take care of the shipping costs.

Cheers,

Charles


tetroid
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 7:36 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby tetroid » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:21 pm

Thank you for announcement, Rich.



Outsoft wrote:
Wow!!!

Simply incredible!!!

I'm offering to test it and buy it one ;)

Great that have his internal memory + TK2, great job!!!

Soon we will see a clone of the Super Gold Card + Qubide too? ;)



The part of Trump card has 768Kb.
Really this board has 1Mb, but I dont know how to use additional 256Kb.

About Super Gold Card, I have not documentation ( schematic ) and it is impossible to buy this interface.
Perhaps, only the Gold card.


vanpeebles wrote:I'd be up for testing it! Will it run at 5v for use with an aurora??


This can run from standard QL system connector ( 9V ). I not added jumper for 5V power. But you can short internal DC-DC and run from 5V, or I can make 5V only for you.
I will add this jumper for next version.



Important for all testers.
You need the ALTERA USB-blaster clone ( or Byte Blaster ) for programming of ALTERA CPLD, for replacement of new firmware.


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby vanpeebles » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:27 pm

A 5v one would be great, I'll probably take a 9v and 5v once you hit proper production. Is it easy to write the firmware using the blaster? I've never used one before!


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2247
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby RWAP » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:35 pm

I don't have anything to program the CPLD chip, but no doubt we can find someone in the UK who can :)


User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby Outsoft » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:39 pm

tetroid wrote:Thank you for announcement, Rich.



Outsoft wrote:
Wow!!!

Simply incredible!!!

I'm offering to test it and buy it one ;)

Great that have his internal memory + TK2, great job!!!

Soon we will see a clone of the Super Gold Card + Qubide too? ;)



The part of Trump card has 768Kb.
Really this board has 1Mb, but I dont know how to use additional 256Kb.

About Super Gold Card, I have not documentation ( schematic ) and it is impossible to buy this interface.
Perhaps, only the Gold card.


vanpeebles wrote:I'd be up for testing it! Will it run at 5v for use with an aurora??


This can run from standard QL system connector ( 9V ). I not added jumper for 5V power. But you can short internal DC-DC and run from 5V, or I can make 5V only for you.
I will add this jumper for next version.



Important for all testers.
You need the ALTERA USB-blaster clone ( or Byte Blaster ) for programming of ALTERA CPLD, for replacement of new firmware.


Well a Gold Card + Qubide will be very interesting too!!!

Are you able to do it too?

Interested in the Trump card + Qubide and GC + Qubide too ;)

Need to give to my 2 QL's an Hard Disk environment and we need also to have a GC + Qubide for test Black Phoenix QL version too ;)

Let me know, opened to test and buy it all 2 naturally.

I'm preserving QL stuff so I can be a tester with a lot of protected programs that works on my Original Trump or GC too.

Very great job!!!


Bloodnok
ROM Dongle
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 9:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Announcement - new QL Interface

Postby Bloodnok » Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:59 am

Hi Tetroid,

I've got the ALTERA USB-blaster clone ( or Byte Blaster ) for programming of ALTERA CPLD so would have no problem updating the new firmware.

Cheers,

Charles



Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests