Make SMSQmulator High Graphics compactble

Discussion and advice about emulating the QL on other machines.
simon629
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:26 pm

Make SMSQmulator High Graphics compactble

Postby simon629 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:39 pm

Hi can any one help me it would be very Good to make SMSQmulator High Graphics compactble so when you run QLE/QDT you can play games like QWORD OK Thanks Simon Foster
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 15.58.57.png


swensont
Forum Moderator
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:30 am
Location: SF Bay Area
Contact:

Re: Make SMSQmulator High Graphics compactble

Postby swensont » Fri Jun 23, 2017 7:03 pm

Simon,

SMSQmulator does high level graphics. It supports up to 24-bit colors. Are you running QDT and not seeing the full colors? Do you have the emulator set to use 24-bit colors?

Tim Swenson


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2247
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Make SMSQmulator High Graphics compactble

Postby RWAP » Fri Jun 23, 2017 7:44 pm

Hmm - that is interesting - the screenshot shows SMSQmulator running in hi-res graphics.

QWord is not running - it is struggling to identify the graphics mode. Does SMSQmulator report the mode as MODE 32 (a la QPC2), or MODE 33 (a la Q40) - it might need configuring.

It could also be that it is struggling to identify the machine mode!

Rich


User avatar
BSJR
ROM Dongle
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 12:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Make SMSQmulator High Graphics compactble

Postby BSJR » Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:44 pm

RWAP wrote:Hmm - that is interesting - the screenshot shows SMSQmulator running in hi-res graphics.

QWord is not running - it is struggling to identify the graphics mode. Does SMSQmulator report the mode as MODE 32 (a la QPC2), or MODE 33 (a la Q40) - it might need configuring.

It could also be that it is struggling to identify the machine mode!

Rich

SMSQmulator is Machine 20 running in colour mode 32 like QPC2.
The example is running in a stretched display, maybe that is giving QWord a headache.

Bob


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2247
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Make SMSQmulator High Graphics compactble

Postby RWAP » Sat Jun 24, 2017 5:37 pm

BSJR wrote:SMSQmulator is Machine 20 running in colour mode 32 like QPC2.
The example is running in a stretched display, maybe that is giving QWord a headache.

Bob


Ah - that explains it - QWord needs to be updated to equate MACHINE = 20 (SMSQmulator) with MACHINE = 30 (QPC2)

I shall do this when I get chance.



Return to “QL Emulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest