Forum Announcement
23/02/2018 - The Online Chat isn't working via the normal link.
You can connect via IRC, or using another web client - https://kiwiirc.com/client/chat.qlforum.co.uk/#qlforum

Mouse working with Ice Desktop

Discussion and advice about emulating the QL on other machines.
simon629
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:26 pm

Mouse working with Ice Desktop

Postby simon629 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:12 am

Hi can anyone help me is it possible to use a mouse on ice Desktop with Qemulator on the Mac OK thank you Simon Foster


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2293
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mouse working with Ice Desktop

Postby RWAP » Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:38 am

As I have said to Simon in a private message - I guess there needs to be enough people using ICE to make this worthwhile for Daniele to implement. That is unlikely to happen until someone manages to get a response out of Eidersoft (now powerc.com) to allow ICE and the accompanying programs released as freeware.

I know I said I would leave this up to others but have reached out to them again (via Facebook this time) - you never know.....

Does anyone have any details as to how the Eidersoft mouse works?


dex
Trump Card
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 1:40 pm

Re: Mouse working with Ice Desktop

Postby dex » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:13 pm

RWAP wrote:Does anyone have any details as to how the Eidersoft mouse works?

It is simple BUS mouse (like Atari ST, Amiga, ...) with X1, X2, Y1, Y2 signals taken directly from photo-transistors, and three buttons.
All these signals are mapped to certain address in the external module ROM space (I don't remember the exact address number).
The remaining space in the ROM is occupied by the mICE software.

You can find the address simply by moving the mouse and checking for changing value in the ROM space.


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1297
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Mouse working with Ice Desktop

Postby tofro » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:30 pm

Don't forget this one:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=568

Tobias


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2293
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mouse working with Ice Desktop

Postby RWAP » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:52 pm

tofro wrote:Don't forget this one:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=568

Tobias


Ah - according to that topic, it looks as though the mouse writes to $0FFFE/$0FFFF to give positional / click data.... :D

It would need a new mouse driver specifically for q-emulator which reads the information from a connected Windows / MAc mouse and writes the data to these two addresses.



Return to “QL Emulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest