Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Helpful tips and guides, also new users can ask for help here.
Oggyuk
ROM Dongle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:28 am

Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby Oggyuk » Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:21 am

Just got this Rom switcher today. using the toolkit to diagnose the problem with my QL.
Not sure what I am seeing here.
Attachments
20171106_111108.jpg
20171106_111105.jpg
20171106_111059.jpg
20171106_111116.jpg
20171106_111054.jpg


Oggyuk
ROM Dongle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:28 am

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby Oggyuk » Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:22 am

and this one
Attachments
20171106_111112.jpg


Oggyuk
ROM Dongle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:28 am

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby Oggyuk » Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:48 am

After numerous presses of the reset and scrolling through the above images, this comes up and then goes to the last screen.
Attachments
20171106_114040.jpg
20171106_114049.jpg


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby vanpeebles » Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:51 am

It looks like faulty ram, those big numbers are memory address errors.


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby tofro » Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:49 pm

The numbers mean (from top to bottom):

  • Memory value (.L) that was written
  • Memory Value read back
  • Affected longword address

I'm, however, a bit lost why some of your pictures show read and written value as the same. The addresses seem to be QL internal memory (lower 128k), though. So, you apparently have a problem with the QL internal memory circuitry.

Tobias


Oggyuk
ROM Dongle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:28 am

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby Oggyuk » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:02 pm

I notice it says 64k on the minerva page.
is the ram split into 2 64k banks?


User avatar
Derek_Stewart
Aurora
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby Derek_Stewart » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:15 pm

Hi,

The njmbers on the Minerva Ram Text screen can be input into a programme from the Minerva Utilities Disk, called "ramfail_bas". The programme will tell you which ram chip is faulty.

But only works for internal QL ram.

The support disk is available on Dilwyn's web site in the QL Roms section or direct link:

http://www.dilwyn.me.uk/qlrom/min198utils.zip


Regards,

Derek
Oggyuk
ROM Dongle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:28 am

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby Oggyuk » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:21 pm

Er not sure how to run that file.
Is there a windows program that can interpret the numbers?


User avatar
XorA
Gold Card
Posts: 415
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby XorA » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:36 pm

Oggyuk wrote:Er not sure how to run that file.
Is there a windows program that can interpret the numbers?


Well you could run the program in the free version of Q-Emulator, SMSQmulator, or QPC2.


Oggyuk
ROM Dongle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:28 am

Re: Using Minerva Rom with toolkit

Postby Oggyuk » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:50 pm

Doh. of course. thanks will have a go.



Return to “Help for New Users”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest